First, I’m trying to prove to myself that I’m a person. Then maybe I’ll convince myself that I’m an actress…

Marilyn Monroe may rarely be a ready source of inspiration for myself, but when straining every sinew to think of something moderately original to kick this off with, she just happened to be second in BrainyQuotes’ results for “first quotes.” So, after that inauspicious start, welcome to my blog!  My name is Dmitri and I study in a remote corner of the British Isles in which my future King and Queen first exchanged glances, or rather at some university there. I begin this blog in my summer holidays, tucked away in Berlin whilst doing an internship which is meant to be of some help in determining the eventual purpose of my life, and for a moment submerged in boredom (not that the “City of Sin” offers too many of such opportunities…joking!).  As you may have wondered from the name that I gave you and how commonplace it is in Scottish folkore,  my background is a little complex and perhaps of some meaningful significance to this blog. Born in London to a Scot and a Russian, I have been lucky to have lived my life on three continents.  Having just finished my first two years of university, I have a unique opportunity to continue discovering new cultures and places this next year, working the summer in Berlin and spending semesters of my third year in Strasbourg and Yaroslavl. It is in my yearning to express my impressions on my personal experiences this year and beyond, comment on ongoing events around the world, and possibly improve my feeble writing skills, that I have somehow brought myself to this task. The blog will probably, possibly or improbably consist of my musings on all things political and historical, the themes of human rights, social justice and cultural interaction of greatest interest to me. All contributions in whatever form or language are welcome.  None of this may have sounded eloquent, but in a nutshell this is what’s it about, bienvenidos!

Leave a Reply

